In partenza per Roma…

by Peter

I get the chance to travel to the Eternal City with a group of students from the Torrey Honors Institute at Biola University. We’ll be studying art, architecture, and aesthetics as a general philosophical category. Needless to say, I am most determinedly not bringing my computer with me. I return on the 24th of this month, and will continue posting sometime in that general temporal vicinity.

For the trip, we read a great number of great books, but two in particular stand out so completely that I feel all but compelled to recommend them. These are Leo Tolstoy’s What is Art?, which, like most of Tolstoy, is beautiful, compelling, and deeply flawed, and Dorothy Sayers’ article Toward a Christian Aesthetic, a very intriguing exploration of the relationship between Trinitarian/Incarnational theology and aesthetic theory… the result is a beautiful vision of a Christian aesthetic. Consider them Grossly recommended.

With that, therefore, I bid you, by the power of the Google Language Translator, addio.

